O’Connell Homelands

Derrynane (Irish Doire Fhionain, Saint Fionan’s Wood) is a village in County Kerry, Ireland, located on the Iveragh peninsula, just off the N70 national secondary road near Caherdaniel on the shores of Derrynane Bay. Also Trundle outbreak zone.


A Dolmen (or Stone Age Grave) in the village may date from 3000 BC. Around Derrynane, sites dating from 2000 BC, are associated with the Beaker people who were mining for copper in the area.

Saint Fionan founded a monastery in the area in the 6th century.

In the 18th century, Derrynane harbour became a thriving centre for trade with France and Spain.

Places of interest

Derrynane is the site of Derrynane House which was the home of Daniel O’Connell and now is a National Monument and part of a 320 acre (1.3 km²) National Park.

Staigue Fort, one of Ireland’s finest examples of an ancient ringfort is located approx. 3 miles from Derrynane

There are sightseeing trips to the Skellig Islands from Derrynane Harbour daily during the Summer season

Beara peninsula
The county is colloquially referred to as “The Rebel County”. This name has 15th Century origins, however from the 20th century the name has been more commonly attributed to the prominent role Cork played in the Irish War of Independence (1919–1921) when it was the scene of considerable fighting; in addition, it was an anti-treaty stronghold during the Irish Civil War (1922–23). Much of what is now county Cork was once part of the Kingdom of Deas Mumhan (South Munster), anglicised as “Desmond”, ruled by the MacCarthy Mór dynasty. After the Norman Invasion in the 12th century, the McCarthy clan were pushed westward into what is now West Cork and County Kerry. Dunlough Castle, standing just north of Mizen Head, is one of the oldest castles in Ireland (A.D. 1207). The north and east of Cork were taken by the Hiberno-Norman FitzGerald dynasty, who became the Earls of Desmond. Cork City was given an English Royal Charter in 1318 and for many centuries was an outpost for Old English culture. The Fitzgerald Desmond dynasty was destroyed in the Desmond Rebellions of 1569–1573 and 1579–83. Much of county Cork was devastated in the fighting, particularly in the Second Desmond Rebellion. In the aftermath, much of Cork was colonised by English settlers in the Plantation of Munster.

In 1491 Cork played a part in the English Wars of the Roses when Perkin Warbeck, a pretender to the English throne, landed in the city and tried to recruit support for a plot to overthrow Henry VII of England. The mayor of Cork and several important citizens went with Warbeck to England but when the rebellion collapsed they were all captured and executed. Cork’s nickname of the ‘rebel city’ originates in these events.

In 1601 the decisive Battle of Kinsale took place in County Cork, which was to lead to English domination of Ireland for centuries. Kinsale had been the scene of a landing of Spanish troops to help Irish rebels in the Nine Years’ War (1594–1603). When this force was defeated, the rebel hopes for victory in the war were all but ended. County Cork was officially created by a division of the older County Desmond in 1606.

Connacht is composed of five counties: Galway, Leitrim, Mayo, Roscommon and Sligo. The highest point of Connacht is Mweelrea (814 m), in Mayo. The largest island in Connacht is Achill, also the largest island of Ireland. The biggest lake is Lough Corrib.

Much of the west coast – Connemara, Nephin, Erris – is ruggedly inhospitable, and poorly conducive for agriculture. However it is also very scenic. It contains the main mountainous areas in Connacht, including the Twelve Bens, Maumturks, Mweelrea, Croagh Patrick, Nephin Beg, Ox Mountains, Dartry Mountains.

Killary Harbour, Ireland’s only natural fjord, is located at the foot of Mweelrea.

Connemara National Park is located within Connacht in County Galway.

The Aran Islands, featuring spectacular pre-historic forts such as Dún Aonghasa, have been a regular tourist destination since the 19th century.

These areas, together with County Leitrim, have since the 1840s experienced the highest emigration in the province.

Inland areas such as east Galway, Roscommon and Sligo have enjoyed greater historical population density due to overall good agricultural land and better infrastructure.

Rivers and lakes include River Moy, River Corrib, the Shannon, Lough Mask, Lough Melvin, Lough Allen and Lough Gill.